Do I Rant? Or Do I Not?

It’s a tough question. Do I burden you all with my practically miniscule problems, or should I just acknowledge that it makes me sound very petty (well that is one word for it) and talk about something else?

Nah, I think I’m going to complain.

Where to begin? I think my current dislike of Amazon/Royal Mail is probably a good starting point.

You see there is a game called Borderlands 2 which was released yesterday (in the UK). I’ve been really looking forward to playing it for months. Write Borderlands into the little search bar on this page and see all the links to Solidus for articles I’ve written. If you don’t want to (lazy) I’ve done around 10 articles in the past few months. That may not sound like much, but it is. Honestly. Whenever there was Borderlands news, I was there to report on it.

Anyway, the point is I was excited for Borderlands 2. And it came out yesterday.

I pre-ordered it from Amazon well in advance, expecting that it would arrive on Friday so I could play it after my job assessment (more on that later). I even paid for first class delivery instead of going for the cheapo  option of going for super saver (my usual choice). I wanted this game, and I wanted it asap.

So I got home around twelve, waited for the postman to arrive (he isn’t too quick), got up when I heard the door and found…

(you can guess where this is going)

no game.

Really? Are you kidding me? This had already happened with Mass Effect 3 earlier this year, so I was even more infuriated than I perhaps would have been if this was a first time offence. I was not happy, especially as there was nothing I could do about it. The postman had sneaked off so I couldn’t berate him. It wasn’t really Amazon’s fault either. It was the worst kind of problem; the kind where you have no one to directly blame and complain to.

It didn’t stop me from sending Amazon an email though. I simply told them I was not impressed at the situation, as I’d given them plenty of warning when I bought it, and I paid for first class delivery so that I could get it on Friday. The estimated time of delivery was yesterday, and only yesterday, so I feel I’m deserving of some compensation. I didn’t actually say this in the post, but I left the statement open, suggesting Amazon should step up and offer me something.

And in the early hours of last night, they did. I have received a £1.84 refund, which I assumed was for my first class delivery. Although it doesn’t change the fact I’m not playing Borderlands 2, it was something. I even thought about not writing this post because Amazon had done their best to make up for the error. They’d offered me a small token to show they are all right. Awh Amazon. I can’t stay mad at you…

Then I realised the refund was just a pre-order bonus (if the price changes, you get the new price) and everybody who pre-ordered Borderlands 2 would get this discount if they paid a higher price than the final delivery price. It wasn’t their way of apologising. I’ve still paid first price delivery for a game I don’t have.

Damn you Amazon. You nearly won me back. Nearly.

None of it matters if I get Borderlands 2 later today. I want to play it and I’m tired of all my friends on it, so providing it arrives today, I’d be happy.
I’ll still use Amazon in the future. Just maybe not for pre-orders.

* * *

No doubt you are wondering about the job assessment that I casually slipped into conversation before returning to my moan about not getting my game. Where did that come from, you are probably wondering. Well I received notification that I’d been put on a shortlist a couple of weeks ago, and the first stage was an assessment yesterday. So I went up to Newcastle and did this test, which was, in all honesty, a complete breeze. I was competing against 4 other women, and without trying to sound too cocky, I’m confident I was the best one in the room.

But we’ll find out on Monday whether I’ve got an interview or not. I won’t be happy if I don’t, but I’ll keep quiet about all of that now. I have some sense of decorum you know. You never know who is listening.

* * *

Now come on postman. Don’t let me down again.

If only I had a dog…then the postie would realise the consequences to letting me down. It might not be his fault but it’s the principle of the matter. They can’t just expect to get away without some form of repercussion. Can they? Exactly.

Maybe our cat Splat could do something…hmm. I’ll need some prawns and bottled scent of a common garden bird.

Wish me luck!

 

5 thoughts on “Do I Rant? Or Do I Not?”

    1. Hahah I’ll have to upload some pics of her. She’s a big fluffy orange cat who likes to torture mice. Other than that she’s lovely.

      I did get my game, played it most of yesterday. Got to be honest, I’m not overly impressed. The user interface doesn’t appeal to me. The font bothers me.

      1. Yeah, I have been on the fence about getting that game. To be honest with finally just getting skyrim I’m not sure if I have time for an MMO. Besides, I’m just waiting for Bioshock: Infinite.
        And yes pictures of your cat is a must!! 🙂

      2. I like it, just the font and style aren’t as good. It looks ugly.
        I need to play it solo so I can concentrate. I’m doing a review on it for Solidus (well I plan to) so we’ll see what I think at the end.
        Skyrim…it was too big for me. I wanted to do everything but I don’t have the time. I prefer Fallout, it is big but not so big you get lost in it.
        Otherwise go for Dragon Age. Great game with a great plot. Second one was a bit repetitive but still has a solid story.
        Bioshock Infinite should be good. I was a little disappointed with B2, but I think that is because it couldn’t really beat the original.
        Infinite, because it is in a new location, doesn’t have this problem in the same way. That is what I think anyway.

        I will set out time for Splat photography sometime this week. She’s usually roaming outside but I’ll do my bes!

      3. I like it, just the font and style aren’t as good. It looks ugly.
        I need to play it solo so I can concentrate. I’m doing a review on it for Solidus (well I plan to) so we’ll see what I think at the end.
        Skyrim…it was too big for me. I wanted to do everything but I don’t have the time. I prefer Fallout, it is big but not so big you get lost in it.
        Otherwise go for Dragon Age. Great game with a great plot. Second one was a bit repetitive but still has a solid story.
        Bioshock Infinite should be good. I was a little disappointed with B2, but I think that is because it couldn’t really beat the original.
        Infinite, because it is in a new location, doesn’t have this problem in the same way. That is what I think anyway.

        I will set out time for Splat photography sometime this week. She’s usually roaming outside but I’ll do my best!

Leave a Reply

