Thank You Monotony!

I was wrong to say that cycling on a machine was nothing more than a boring way of exercising. Completely wrong.

Well I wasn’t that wrong. It is, after all, just exercising. And it is boring. If I wasn’t harbouring a need to get healthy, I probably wouldn’t do it. I just don’t find it interesting. The sooner I get a bike that has wheels the better. Then the mileometer might move a little quicker…

Today though, cycling was incredibly beneficial to me. Beyond the obvious ‘get fitter blah blah blah’ rubbish that is. It may have dragged on for what seemed like hours, but this time it was worth it. I had a revelation.

I solved the problems I’d been having with my book (or started to anyway).

For the past three weeks I hadn’t written a single word because I didn’t know where to go next. I planned out sections and learnt a bit more about my story, but I was still stuck. The storyline wasn’t working for me. It lacked suspense and it wasn’t engaging me in the way I had hoped. But at the same time I wasn’t going to give up on just yet. The fact I hadn’t produced anything new in three weeks, however, was getting me down a little. Even though I was gradually getting to a solution, I missed the thrill of writing.

But while I was cycling I came up with an idea that should, in theory, solve my problems. By changing the emphasis from the storyline to the characters, the flaws in the overall plot don’t matter any more. I can develop other areas that will actually make my book even better. For the past few hours I’ve been working on fine-tuning my plans. I might not be back writing tomorrow, but I am a hell of a lot closer to being back in business. Once I’ve organized everything I might be able to continue from where I left off. It’s not perfect but hey, it’s an improvement on where I was yesterday!

And all of this is down to how boring it is to exercise. My brain was so frustrated by the tedium of cycling on the spot that it was able to explore ideas and come up with a solution to this nagging problem I’ve had since I came home from the USA.

So thank you exercise for being so damn monotonous. You have kickstarted my writing into gear again.

I won’t be doing anything silly like exercising more regularly though. I’m not that desperate.

Yet.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

