Sunday Blues

Bah, the weekend is nearly over. It feels like it has only been a few hours but here we are, on the wrong side of 6pm on a Sunday evening, with the prospect of a long day at work looming over me like a shroud. Bah.

However there are some pluses to be found. I have had a good few days.

Saturday I played Forza Horizon for hours (my dad surprised me with it when he came home from the shops) then on Sunday the three of us went to Barter Books, a huge second-hand bookstore in Alnwick, Northumberland, and traded in some of our unwanted books. With the house move in a few weeks this was a chance to lighten the load. I went for a load of hardback books because they would drive a higher price, they were heavy (suddenly my book boxes aren’t so hard to lift!) and I didn’t plan to read them again so it was pointless taking them with us.

Usually they’ll give you the odd book back depending on their stock etc, and then pay you in store credit for the books they’ve taken off your hands. I handed one of the employers my bag and went off for a drink. Twenty minutes I returned and was made rather happy when I was given an empty bag. They’d taken the lot! No books to carry home AND I’ve made myself £30. Awesome.

Well…not quite. I uh, spent all of it on some more books. I actually had to give them an extra £1.50 to cover the costs. So in the space of an hour the money was gone and I had a bag just as big as the one I’d brought in. Whoops. That didn’t go as planned.

I did get a load of books that I wanted though. Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, Shaun Hutson and Stephen King should keep me busy for the next few months. Since reading the Steig Larsson books I’ve found myself craving more literature so now I have no reason not to read with all these books. And of course all these different styles and storylines have really helped with my writing. I feel that I pick up on a lot more in the books than I did before, which means I enjoy reading them even more too.

Speaking of my writing, did I get anything done on that like I wished for on Friday?

Not quite…but there is still time to do something. I think I need to redo the structure; perhaps the act one; plot point; act two; plot point; act 3 system has reached its limit and it’s time to try something else. It helped greatly with my planning but it’s a hindrance now. I still have the passion for the story and I love my characters but it isn’t working at the moment. I’m not giving up though. It was never going to be easy. I’ll see what I can do this evening.

However my mood to do anything has been affected by the football, which is what my title alludes to. Despite dominating the game Chelsea played poorly in the final third and ended up drawing with Liverpool, who had created nothing until the goal. Not a happy bunny at all. I even wore my Chelsea shirt today but clearly they didn’t deserve my support. Bloody awful. Oh well.

Right I’m off. Going to stare at my notepad and hopefully a new way to structure my book will make itself known. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Blues”

Leave a Reply

