Death, Thanksgiving, & Masks.

To continue Alex’s theme of death, I thought I’d talk about Thanksgiving.

So Thanksgiving is coming up.

For all of you who didn’t know, what we learned in the first grade about happy pilgrims sharing food and peace and love with the Indians on Thanksgiving is a bunch of bull.

Aww the happy smiling faces of love and kindness.
No.

What happened:

Over 700 men, women and children of the Pequot Tribe had gathered for their annual Green Corn Festival which is our Thanksgiving celebration. In the predawn hours the sleeping Indians were surrounded by English (Ed: Woah don’t be blaming us for your cruelty!) and Dutch mercenaries who ordered them to come outside.  Those who came out were shot or clubbed to death while the terrified women and children who huddled inside the longhouse were burned alive. The next day the governor of the Massachusetts Bay Colony declared “A Day Of Thanksgiving” because 700 unarmed men, women and children had been murdered. (http://www.manataka.org/page269.html)

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

This brings up a topic that I have been studying in one of my courses: masks.

No, not these.

Personality masks.

How people act differently in certain situations: like how you are one person with your friends, then a completely different person around your boss.

Masks can also be used to protect you; say if I was really hurt by what somebody had said, but I would laugh it off and joke about it. Obviously I am not happy and do not feel like laughing, but I put on a mask to protect myself.

This is a really quick and horribly done summary of this.

But hopefully you get the idea.

I challenge you to think about your masks and why you use them. Who are they protecting? How are they influencing the relationships you have? How easy is it for yourself and others to determine your masks?

Back on topic: What does this have to do with Thanksgiving?

Well, our country tends to use masks when it comes to our history, like Thanksgiving. They develop a mask that turns our brutal history into something happy and pride worthy.

Why does our country do this? Are they ashamed?

I feel like we shouldn’t be ashamed by our history. WE were not the people involved, and if we can look back and feel guilty at their actions, I think that says something about how we’ve changed. We are not the ancestors who were involved in these slaughters.

And if we are not taught about them, how are we supposed to improve and learn and make a difference?

For instance, if we had learned the truth about Thanksgiving, its not like we would be celebrating the slaughter of the tribes, but we could use it to celebrate how thankful we are to people and animals who have died in order for us to not only have our Thanksgiving meal, but to live each day with the quality we do.

Something to think about when you are eating your giant turkey – his life was taken so you could consume him. Be thankful to him for that.

3 thoughts on “Death, Thanksgiving, & Masks.”

  1. Nice Vanna good to see the truth about our lovely holiday come out. There are a lot of people that cann’t handle truth. Interesting mask story also, you have to wear a mask to stand a holiday with family otherwise we would be celebrating independence day year round. I ? the last part though I thought you liked all the food that came with the holiday.

    1. I do like all the food, LOVE actually. It is my favorite holiday because of all the deliciousness.
      I just want people to be thankful for the deliciousness and where it came from.

      What are you doing for Thanksgiving, Mandy?

      1. oh family drama day b4 then online shop day of nothing big. You know me I hate holidays that involve family. My holiday is Halloween! I guess my B-Day isn’t bad now that I’m an adult.

Leave a Reply

