Today I Died A Little Inside

One more week. Just one more week, and my time working at the Health Records Dept will be over. And, if today is any indication of what I’ll be doing next week, the 15th can’t come soon enough.

Agh, it was so bad. I know I’ve bemoaned the monotony of work before, so you’re probably thinking I’m overreacting here, but I’m not. In fact, you should ignore my previous complaints because they pale in comparison to what I had to do today. This is no exaggeration. I would rather go back to those days then repeat today’s shift. Agh. Like I said at the start of this paragraph…it was bad.

Why was it so bad? I hear you all ask.

Well, here is an overview of what I did from 9.30am to 2.30am, minus thirty minutes for lunch.

  1. Grab some files
  2. Put the files in a trolley
  3. Push the trolley a few feet
  4. Empty the trolley
  5. Repeat. Over and over and over and over and over and over again.

Yeah. That was it. After an hour, I had lost the will to live. Unsurprisingly, it didn’t get any better from that point.

But wait, I work until 5! What did I do after 2.30? Something more exciting?

Nope, of course not. I did something that made the trolley job look interesting…

  1. Tap out a code onto the computer
  2. Click on a few things
  3. Print off a bar-code
  4. Stick the bar-code on a file
  5. Repeat. Over and over and over and over and over and over again.

It was horrible. I’m already dreading Monday. What if I have to do that again? Urgh. Unemployment sounds a lot more appealing than doing another week of that, if I’m perfectly honest. I know I still need money to help fund my trip,  but I’m starting to wonder if the wage is worth the loss of my sanity. When thinking ‘I’ll be seeing Vanna soon!’ isn’t enough to make me happy, you know there is something wrong.

I’m not quite sure what the worst bit was: was it…

  1. The repetitious nature of the tasks?
  2. The lack of mental stimulus?
  3. The never-ending pile of work?
  4. The fact a monkey could probably do our job?
  5. Or how our efforts would inevitably mean absolutely nothing?

Hmm, tough one. I’d probably go for a combination of 2 and 5. To be honest, all of them, monkey joke aside, were awful.

I don’t know whether you ever read my blog post about how games are good for the mind (you should!), but one of the main points I made was how happiness can be generated by doing something worthwhile. Essentially (I am paraphrasing here; read the article for a better idea of what I’m talking about), we desire to be challenged, and when we overcome these challenges, we need to see our efforts rewarded in some way.  And, to put it bluntly, I’m not getting any of that. Usually it doesn’t bother me, but today it went too far for me to cope. There was no challenge to my work, and there was no reward either. By Monday, everything I have done today will have gone, and by next Friday, I won’t even be there.

Urgh. 7 more weeks. Just 7 more weeks…

2 thoughts on “Today I Died A Little Inside”

Leave a Reply

