Friday Is Farewell, Judgment Is Nearing And I…I Gotta Buy Jaws

So this afternoon I notified my boss that Friday will be my last day at work. I weighed up the decision last night, and eventually concluded that it had to end. Also, my dad told me I was needed at home next week, and, well, that was that. After watching water from the water tank rain into the bathroom cupboard, I couldn’t really disagree with him. Things need to be done ASAP, and it is the least I can do to repay my dad and Sue for all their support over the past year.  So…two more days to go!

I had really dreaded the conversation, not because I thought it would be awkward or poorly received (after all, I’ve been working on a ‘come in until we say we don’t need you‘ basis for the last two weeks, which hardly demands loyalty), but because I don’t like to let people down. Next week is going to be really busy (Easter is a bad time for us filers) so I’ve picked a bad time to disappear (not for me though, I don’t have to do it hahahaha!) from the scene as they’re going to need as many people in as possible.

But that wasn’t even mentioned. She thanked me for letting her know while I offered genuine sincerity at the situation (though I complain a lot, another week wouldn’t be that bad). Hopefully things won’t be too bad for them when I’m gone. The people I work with are more than competent, so they should be fine. Obviously they’ve lost a vital member of the filing team (you may laugh, but with one person on an extended holiday, I became the senior full-time member of staff this week), but they should cope without me, even if they don’t have my humour and charm to keep them going (also my, uh, work ethic, efficient nature and enthusiasm?).

As for today, well that, actually wasn’t too bad. I’d throw out the word ‘easy’, or perhaps ‘comfortable’ would be more accurate. Yesterday might have been unbelievably hectic and horrible from start to finish, but today and Monday were surprisingly calm. More of that for the rest of this week, please. I would like to stroll across the finish line, if you don’t mind.

Another plus to finishing Friday (in addition to being able to lie in, having more time to write and not having to stare files for hours and hours) is that I’ll be able to play Judgment. For those of you who didn’t see my blog last week, I recently talked about my apathetic response to Gears Of War: Judgment, which comes out, rather conveniently, on my final day at work. But since then I’ve had a chance to play a demo of it, and well, I’ve changed my mind. Sure, I didn’t like the game mode available, and it all seemed very slower paced (also laggy and somewhat clunky) compared to its predecessor…but I can’t wait for it to arrive. The campaign should be really good (it has impressed the reviewers), and I’m sure I’ll be able to get into the multiplayer too, even if I don’t commit to it like I did with Gears 2 or 3. I’m hoping it comes early so I don’t have to wait until Friday night. It was dispatched today after all…could it be here tomorrow?

Ah, I’m getting excited. I’ll tell you about it later, but if you don’t hear from me for a few days…well you know what’s going on.

Finally, I received an email yesterday about the next Writing Squad meet. This time we’ll be studying script, which will be great for both my novel writing and my game writing. Much like Judgment, I can’t wait for that.

What really got my attention were the instructions that came with the email. You see, we’ve been told to do two things before the 13th April. They are;

Number One is watch the film ‘Jaws’.

Number Two is to re-watch, or re-read a story you love. Preferably a book/film/play that is well known.

Hmm. I’ve never seen Jaws. Or at least I don’t think I have. Hmm.

And number two. What book or film (what about a play? you ask. Hahah. Let’s not kid ourselves) should I choose? Would I be better off with a film, as it would be quicker, or one of my novels, which will be easier to get a hold of? What are we going to do at the meeting? Should I make notes about what I’m watching/reading in case I have to script out the story, or something? And what does Jaws have to do with anything?

…hmm. Very interesting. Good thing I’m off next week really, isn’t it? I have to prepare!

…anybody got a copy of Jaws that they want to send to me?

One thought on “Friday Is Farewell, Judgment Is Nearing And I…I Gotta Buy Jaws”

Leave a Reply

