All Alone

What a lonely Saturday this is going to be. Vanna left me this morning to go to work, and she won’t be back until very late tonight as she is spending the day with her cousin between her two shifts. I did have plans too, but unfortunately they’ve been postponed until next week so I’m going to just sit around the house all day instead.

*sigh*

And in less than two weeks I’ll be going home. Already dreading that day. Though I’m fine with the going home aspect (there are a few things that I can look forward to), I’m less happy with the leaving Vanna behind part of the equation. It’s going to be even harder this time, and I didn’t even think that was possible. The three months here has just flown by; mostly because we’ve spent such little time together in comparison to previous visits. Last year, when I was also here for three months, Vanna worked infrequently, so we had a lot more time together. We’d be together more or less every day. Unfortunately, it has been the complete opposite this time out. We knew this would be the case before I came, but that hasn’t made it any easier to accept.

*sigh*

Apologies for the rather maudlin tone to today’s post. Waking up in an empty house was a harsh reminder of what Vanna is going to go through every single day once I’m gone. It’s going to be much worse for her than it will be for me. At least I’ll have company (though Anya is a loving cat, I don’t think she can really replace human contact).

Oh well. We’ll work it out. We always do.

Right. I don’t want to completely depress you this morning, so I’ll finish off with a few positive point in an attempt to counteract all that sadness and negativity above.

  1. 4th of July is coming up soon, and I’ve found a new t-shirt to celebrate the occasion. If you remember last year, Vanna and I kitted out in our most patriotic gear (well, I did; Vanna changed shortly after we took pictures) for the day. We’re not sure what we’re going to do this year, but I’m ready for it. So ready you’ll think I was American.
  2. Another thing that was a hit last year was (were?) the Crosby Best Garden Awards (with all those misplaced apostrophes; sometimes I’m ashamed by my grammar). Now, I’m not going back to Crosby this year but there might, just might, be a sequel. I don’t want to build your hopes up too much but let’s just say the BGAs are keen to make a comeback.
  3. I’m reading a very good book at the moment. It was one of my $4 hardbacks that I got from Barnes & Noble, and it is proving to be a very good read. I would talk about it now, but I’m nearly at the end so I may as well wait until I’ve finished it. Besides, you’re probably too excited by the teaser in bullet point number 2 to care, right?

And that’s it for now. I’ll be back again later. Maybe with more news on the BGAs…

2 thoughts on “All Alone”

    1. Haha, Law Of Nines, Terry Goodkind. I picked it up because it looked interesting…and so far it has been. The main character is called Alex too, which makes it even better.

Leave a Reply

