A Celebratory Coffee And Doughnut At Krispy Kreme

Though it is considered unlucky for some, this Friday the 13th brought only good news to our family, as my dad, at the ripe old age of 53, officially retired today. After thirty seven long hard years, he has decided to finish with the daily grind, and will now spend his time doing…well, not a lot to be honest. It’ll be a mostly uneventful schedule of working on his jigsaws, Xboxing (yes, he has an Xbox too; earlier this week, we spent five hours together on Fifa, which was a surprise to both of us), doing stuff in the garden (if the weather is nice), walking into Durham (again, weather permitting), spending time with Sue (who is now semi-retired) and talking to Splat. You know, the usual pensioner (heheheh) stuff.

But, he’s deserved that privilege, and I’m very happy for him. And to celebrate, I treated him and Sue to coffee and doughnuts at the Krispy Kreme in Durham. Well, I just bought them a coffee, as neither of them wanted a doughnut (I had one though; raspberry glazed, very delicious), but I did offer, and I think that counts. And though it was a bit miserable weather wise (the sunny days are over now…), we had a good walk afterwards too (had to burn off that doughnut, didn’t I?).

That isn’t, however, the only good news, as tomorrow my dad and Sue are driving up to the Isle of Skye for a week’s holiday! They haven’t had a ‘proper’ holiday for over two years, so understandably they are very excited to get away (they don’t get to go to America every year for three months like some people…ahem). Hopefully they’ll have a wonderful time together, and not let any potential bad weather (it is Scotland, after all; even in the summer, you’re likely to see rain) affect their plans. Regardless of whether they get to leave the cottage or not, it’ll be a much welcome break for them…so yeah, very pleased about that.

What about yours truly? Well, I’m going to stay here and look after the house for a week. Oh, and Splat.

What’s that? You can’t believe they’ve trusted me to look after another living thing?

Well, that’s not a very nice thing to say. What are you trying to say? Do I not look capable?

This is the face of a man who can be trusted!
I’m more competent than you will ever be!

And what am I going to live off when there is nobody to cook for me? Sandwiches and crisps?

Hey, I’ll have you know that I’m perfectly capable of making myself some proper food. I can function fine in the kitchen, thank you very much. Can open tins and everything, so don’t worry about me. I’ll be fine. I’ve got it all covered. Neither Splat nor myself will starve.

Honestly, some people just have no faith in me…

 

 

…How do you turn the oven on again?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

