Confident, But Not Overconfident

You’ll be glad to hear the interview went well. I gave it my best shot, and I feel like I’m in a good position to get the job. I won’t go into details on why I think the odds are in my favour because I look like a berk if I’m unsuccessful, but I reckon I stand a good chance. I’m confident…but we’ll see how it goes.

All in all though, a good experience that I really did enjoy (which is impressive for an interview!). There were four others there (all woman; one was my age, while the rest were at least ten years my senior), and we had about ten minutes beforehand to get to know each other. Though we were competing against each other, this was a good thing as it helped ease the nerves a little bit. Soon we’d have to practice selling a product to the group (more on that shortly)….so yeah, it was important to be comfortable with the other applicants.

So, what did we do?

Well after the introductions, document checks and such had been completed, we did three group tasks. As the emphasis was on our personality, and whether we were suited to the job through our attitude etc, we began with an icebreaker. I had to tell the group what my first album was, and the first film that I saw (or remember seeing at least). I’m not going to tell you what I said because they were incredibly embarrassing, and there’s no way I’m doing it on the internet where it will be documented forever. It was bad enough telling a roomful of strangers. Sorry. But, despite my shame (which I played along with), it was a good way to start the session.

Next task involved word association, which was straightforward enough. It was good to do, but I won’t go into it here. Like my first album, you just don’t need to know.

So, the third task. Oh boy. This was the one I was dreading most (I wasn’t the only one worried about it either). We had to pick a product, and show how we’d sell it to the customers. They had a trolley full of goods, and we had to grab something at random. After a few minutes planning, we would then do our presentation.

Obviously, this was the real test of the day. The employees were very encouraging and reassured us that it was no big deal (they’d even go first!) but still, I was nervous. We went around the room. The first woman got school shirts. Second got a wallet. Third got a dress. Fourth got a water pistol. And then it was my turn. I tried to avoid the pink thing that was on top because whatever it was I didn’t want to sell it. So I rooted my hand through and grabbed something that felt weird…

…and it was the best thing I could have picked. Seriously, if I messed up then I would have walked right out the room because I wouldn’t have deserved the job. If I could have thought of anything in the world to sell, it would have been that. I can’t state how relieved I was. It was…

…A Spider-Man mask. (I haven’t told you where I was applying, but I think that link gives it away!)

Oh yes. Suddenly I was no longer worried about this task. I love Spider-Man (new readers, search Spider-Man in the top and see how many results you get…I’m guessing at least 11. What can I say? He’s my favourite), and there was no way I could fail. I jotted down some important points, but really, I needn’t have bothered. You would have thought I was a natural. I talked about the quality, what it could be used for (I focused on Halloween, but I’d be wearing it every time), how comfortable it was, the good price etc. I even wore it, and the reception I got? Well, I killed it. There was laughter (good laughter) and applause. The girl who went after me was mad because she had to follow that performance. I’m not one for tooting my own horn…but yeah, I was good.

After that, we had a break, and then it was time for the one-to-one interviews. I went first, and I think I did all right. I answered the questions to the best of my abilities, and I think I gave good answers. I felt comfortable and I didn’t stress out too much. The lady interviewing me seemed satisfied, anyway.

Unfortunately my trip in November (I’ll talk about that another time), caused some complications. As I’ll be away for 4 days, I could only go for the second shift available; instead of the perfect November-December period, I’d be working December-January. This coincides with Vanna’s trip here which isn’t ideal, but hey, that’s life.  The bigger concern is that I’ll be on a 4 hours a day, five days a week rota, meaning 1/3 of my wages will go on train fares. At least there is the opportunity for overtime, so who knows? I don’t even have the job yet, so I should probably wait until I do (if I do!) before I start worrying about that. Eh, I’ll figure it out later.

For now, I’m just going to relax, and possibly get some sleep (I had a migraine all last night…not the best preparation!). Overall, I’m pleased with how I did today, regardless of the result. If I get the job, great, if not, I’ll keep trying. As I said yesterday, the important thing was to have a good experience. And I did. I’ll just have to see what happens from it.

Aaaaand that’s about it from me. Have a great Friday everyone!

 

Alex.

 

 

Leave a Reply

