Is It The Tenth Yet?

So I went back to PC World today to drop off my laptop. I explained the problem, filled in my details, arranged a pick up date blah blah blah. I was rather calm about it all, which I think is impressive going given that I’m now without my laptop for another two weeks because they couldn’t fix it properly the first time. But hey ho, I’m not going to go down that road. It’s broken, nothing I can do about it.

Anyway, I decided to ask about the 21 day policy that the guy from the call centre mentioned on the phone to me yesterday. He didn’t really talk me through it, but I Essentially, if they haven’t fixed my laptop in 21 days, I can call them and demand (demand sounds a bit aggressive, but point is that it is my decision and they can’t reject it) a replacement laptop. They will then give me vouchers that will get me a laptop of equivalent spec, or the latest model of the one I’ve got…I think. Something like that. I’m not entirely sure how it works, but I’ll make sure to check it out before I make the decision.

Now the deadline for this is on the tenth of December, but the expected delivery of my laptop is the 15th. From what I gather, my laptop could be fixed by next Tuesday, but if I don’t have it, I can claim under this 21 day policy and get a new one. You would think this deadline would push the engineers to move faster, but apparently that probably won’t be the case. Either I claim, or I wait until the Sunday after. What do I do?

Hmm. It’s a tough decision. Having my only a year old laptop back (presumably with a new fan) would be a lot less hassle (I’m familiar with it, no time needed to set it up etc) BUT there is something appealing to getting a new laptop that, providing I choose wisely, might be better than the one I have (a good fan would be a start, but I’m sure there are other things it could improve on). I do, however, have some reservations to claiming.

  1. What do those vouchers actually offer me? How restricted are they? I’m wary I’ll end up getting something worse somehow.
  2. Can my policy be moved onto a new laptop? It has come quite handy the past few weeks, and I don’t want to have to pay for another when this one has another year on it. 
  3. Norton. I just renewed my yearly service with them. Can that be moved too? If not, what are they going to do about it?
  4. Microsoft Word. This annoyed me when I bought my laptop, as I was told it came with Microsoft. It didn’t, so I had to use trials and eventually Vanna’s Microsoft Office code, which I think is now invalid. I’m a writer. I can’t go without Microsoft Word. Again, what are they going to do about it?
  5. Finally, what happens to my old laptop? I moved most of my documents across, but there are a few things I need to check before I can say sayonara to it. My mistake, I know, but there are sticky notes on the desktop (virtual, not physical notes) that relate to my book that I wouldn’t mind checking. Will I get a chance? I very much doubt it. 

So yeah, not quite sure what to do just yet. It would be easier to just wait, but after seeing the Knowhow guy mark my laptop on the sheet, I want to cause as much trouble as possible with them. 

You see, when I first brought my laptop to them, it was checked to be in ‘good’ condition. This time, though, a different guy put it down as ‘damaged’. I saw this on the sheet, and instantly flagged it up. Why the change? Well, because there were scratches on the top, and scuff marks on the bottom. 

…Right.

Now, between these two assessments, it has only been in my possession for one day. In that time, I did the following;

  1. I brought it home in their special bag.
  2. I took it out, put it on my non scratchy and very soft bedding.
  3. I found it was still broken, and put it back in their special bag. 

At what point could the laptop have gained these scuffs and scratches? You could argue the first guy didn’t see them, or perhaps considered them unimportant. I know for a fact, however, that there were no scuff marks on the base. I know that because I would have noticed them earlier. As Vanna will contest to, I’m a very fussy person when it comes to my possessions. If I see damage, I obsess about it. The scratches I would need to look at closely, as I think I was aware of those, but the scuffs were definitely not from me. I explained this to the gentleman, and he told me that it was impossible (yes, he used the word impossible) their engineers would have done this damage. It was either there before, or it happened when I had it last night. As I didn’t check the laptop in the shop, there is nothing they can do about it.

Uh, hold on a moment. Yes, I should have checked it in store, but I have two issues with this.

  1. How is it impossible for it to be the engineer’s fault? What makes them so infallible? They supposedly fixed the fan, but look at what happened there. Also, it was in delivery for nearly a week. Really, if I bring it to them and it is considered ‘good’, and then after two weeks in their hands, it is ‘damaged’ surely the question should be raised at them?
  2. Let’s just assume it all happened before I brought it in the first time. How can two employees differ on something so incredibly basic? How can scuff marks (which were rather obvious…had I looked at the base at home I would have seen them easily) and scratches be counted as ‘good’ by one guy, and ‘damaged’ by another? That’s quite a difference.

Naturally, I’m not best pleased at this rating (it was the only point in the conversation where I began to lose my cool). I know it didn’t happen last night. I know it. And what about the repercussions? If I keep the laptop, I’ll be stuck with this damage, which, as I said earlier, I will obsess over. If I don’t, and decide to claim on it instead, will the price of my vouchers be affected? Perhaps not, but I wouldn’t put it past them to dock me for it.  I lose credit because someone on their end wasn’t careful enough.

Urgh. It annoys me even now. Whether I claim or not, I’ll make sure to put a complaint in at some point. It’s what us Brits do, right? Or maybe it is the American side of me coming out thanks to prolonged exposure to Vanna. I don’t know which stereotype works best (the angry ranting American or the strongly worded letter from the Englishman), but that’s what I’m going to do. Another step into adulthood! 

I’ll update you on what happens. 

Alex

 

Leave a Reply

