What’s Been Happening?

Hello everyone, how are you doing? Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas. Vanna and I have had a great time so far. Mostly we’ve just chilled out in the house, but we’ve had fun. This is what we’ve been up to.

Christmas Day

We had frost, people! For the first time this winter…frost!

Look at it!

Amazing isn’t it?! I’m not sure how we managed to get Vanna given how bad the weather was, but we did. Thankfully she didn’t have any problems on her flight and we’re together again!

Heyyyyyyy Vaaaaaannnnnaaaaa

Sadly Vanna wasn’t too well on Wednesday, but we still had a good day. We saw Sue’s parents which was nice, and we had a delicious Christmas dinner too. Really lovely. Just a good day.

Oh wait, presents!

Biscuits, chocolates, some shower stuff, a Spiderman toothbrush, some grooming kit (maybe I can style my beard…), a 3D jigsaw, a game and a cross-stitch to do for Vanna.
I don’t know if you can see, but there isn’t just 1, 2, 3 etc. There is 1/20. Fractions? I can’t do fractions!

Not sure how successful the crafting things will be, but I’ll give it a go. I can’t ask Vanna because she has her own jigsaw, paint by numbers and cross-stitch as well. Oh man.

Boxing Day

Football, football and more football. Vanna slept while I watched the three matches. We went to a restaurant for another three course meal but this time I couldn’t finish it! Incredible I know, but I just couldn’t do it. I was too full after the starter! Couldn’t even finish the main meal. Had to turn down dessert. It was lovely food too. Devastated.

Friday

After a couple of busy days (they don’t sound it but they were), Friday was a day to relax so Vanna could properly catch up. We watched Predators (nothing special, but I enjoyed it) and that was about it.

Saturday

Wow, Saturday was dramatic. It was a great day, but it had some…well…awkward moments.

First, and most importantly, we bought a wedding ring for Vanna. We went to the Metro Centre, and after a drink, headed straight to an antique jewelry store. Vanna tried on about 15 rings, but there was only one winner. And it was…

…ah sorry, no picture of the ring. It is being kept in its box until next year. Sorry!

We do, however, have a picture of Vanna’s second ring. Vanna saw a pearl ring and really liked it, so I decided to buy it for her in addition to the wedding ring. As she didn’t get an engagement ring, it seemed right to get her this. I never proposed properly and that’s always bothered me…so yeah, this was important. Vanna is happy now though, and that is all that matters.

Oooooh
Ahhhhhhh

Shopped out, we went for our first meal at Chiquitos, a Mexican restaurant. We sat down, got comfortable and then…realized we didn’t have Vanna’s handbag. Which not only had her cards and such in, but also the recently bought wedding ring…

Oh sh…

Instant panic. We ran out and tried to remember when we last saw it. Vanna never takes it off, so where could it have gone? After a bit of rushing around, we ended up at customer services and said we’d lost something. Instantly the guy smiled, having recognized Vanna from her I.D, and handed her the handbag. Everything was in it. Phew.

So I’d like to use this blog post to thank whoever it was who saw Vanna’s handbag (wherever it was) and handed it in. You probably won’t be reading this, but thank you!

With that adventure over, we went back to Chiquitos. I had a burrito burger and Vanna had a chimichonga (or however you spell it). Very tasty, and after all our running around, much-needed. We were both impressed. A little on the expensive side, but enjoyable. Pizza Hut is usually our, uh, usual, but Chiquitos might be in with a shout now. We’ll see.

Meal over, we then went to the cinema to see The Hobbit: Desolation Of Smaug. I spent £4 extra for premium seats, which I assumed were more comfortable than the bog-standard seat. Nope! Premium seats are just normal seats in a slightly better position. I wasn’t pleased with that at all. I wanted comfort! Urgh.

The film was good though. I thought it was better than part one, and I did enjoy it a lot. The only problem was sitting in those awful, clunky seats for three hours. I couldn’t stop fidgeting. My back hurt, my legs cramped up, my neck was sore…not fun. It was just frustrating because it stopped me from getting fully immersed in the film. That’s why I’m not writing a proper review today, as too much of my time was spent trying to get comfortable. I was constantly checking my watch to see when I could leave, which isn’t really a good thing. Again, not the fault of the film (I had the same problem during District 9, and that is one of my favourite films)…just the cinema. So yeah, I’ll talk more about Smaug’s desolation once I see it again.

What about Vanna? Well she liked the film, but uh…fell asleep near the end. I don’t know how she managed it. Seriously, those seats were awful.

Right, I’m off to have a drink. We’re off to Seaham and Hartlepool Marina tomorrow. The weather isn’t supposed to be great (still better than the -30c temps in Minnesota, mind), but we’re looking forward to it. Vanna in particular is excited to see the old ships at the marina. She is practically bouncing off the walls, bless her. I’ll make sure to take plenty of pictures of her while we’re out.

Speak to you later,

Alex

 

P.S Sorry the blog is a bit disjointed today…I’ve already had a few drinks so I suspect my writing isn’t as wonderfully awesome as it usually is. Oh well. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

