Winter Book List

Vanna here.

After being here for less than three weeks, I have managed to acquire quite a large portion of books. Last Saturday, as mentioned by Alex, we visited Barter Books, an old train station converted into a second-hand book store. (click here for a direct link to their website.) Although  I had not intended to buy any books, I browsed the store reading various titles and summaries; I wasn’t finding much that suited my reading style, so I had given up and  started aimlessly wandering the various sections with the intentions to kill time while the rest of the family searched.  When impatiently pacing through the aisles for the third or fourth time, I stumbled upon the perfect Vanna jackpot: the cat section! (and even better luck, it was at my height. A lot of the books are on tall shelves out of my reach).  I collected more than my arms could hold and started the long difficult process of choosing which to purchase and which to sadly put back on the shelf; I narrowed down three books (Alex wouldn’t let me have any more…), all in brand new condition!

A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen (I had looked at it in Waterstones book store a few days prior but was put off by the price (Alex said no) so it was a double bargain for me!)
originally £7.99   paid: £2.80   It was brand new – practically unopened (could tell by the crease-less spine)

Cat Counsellor by Vicky Halls
originally £6.99   paid:£2.80

Making the Rounds with Oscar by David Dosa
originally £7.99   paid £3.20 (also an unopened, crease-less spine)

Then today while walking Durham, we went into Waterstones to find two titles Alex wasn’t able to buy at Barter Books. Of course I could NOT enter a book store without a bit of browsing, and I ended up buying two more books.

The Light Years by Elizabeth Jane Howard
£8.99    It is about 600 pages so the price was fair I thought, and it was a British author so I knew I wouldn’t have much luck finding it in Minnesota

Quiet by Susan Cain
£8.99  Luckily the books were “Buy One Get One Half Price” so I received somewhat of a bargain.

And to top it off, I found some books in Alex’s collection that I’ve decided to take back with me (we eventually will have to bring all of his books across, as we are going to permanently be living together, so I used that as an excuse to bring them home with me).

Pure by Andrew Miller

Joyland by Stephen King

The Long Song by Andrea Levy

Northern Lights by Phillip Pulman (Golden Compass books)

Under the Dome by Stephen King

Alex hasn’t read most of those yet (not surprised, he has crates and crates full of books), so I’m excited to get the first read!

I also brought a book with me for the plane which I need to (start and) finish:

Rise by Anna Carey     it is the third and final book of the Eve triliogy and I have been waiting about a year for the paperback copy to be released, so I’m excited for that!

So that will keep me busy for the long winter days we’re stuck indoors. I’ll be sure to give my opinion of each, here on the blog, once I’ve finished. I’m not sure how I’m going to fit all of these books in my suitcase (along with loads of other large heavy items I have purchased/received here)…. looks like my carry-on bag will be jam-packed to the limit. I should have brought a larger bag, darn it!

side note: the site won’t allow me to indent the beginning of my paragraphs, so apologies for that

Leave a Reply

