Hereeeeeeeeeeeeee’s ALEX!

It’s getting colder, folks. It has been -20C lately (I’m finding Fahrenheit so annoying; it’s all they use here and there is no logical way to convert it…come on America, switch to a normal scale please), which is probably the coldest temperature I’ve endured in my life. Well, it is the coldest that I can remember. We don’t really do negative in the UK. It was big news last week because some parts of the country had frost. And here? It has snowed two feet and nobody has blinked. Can’t say that would have ever happened at home.

For the most part, the snow/cold hasn’t bothered me. I wrap up warm…no big deal. What has bothered me is the staying indoors business. We don’t have the gas to go anywhere and there is nowhere we can walk to (and I don’t think a jaunt outside is really encouraged when it is like this), so we’ve spent a lot of time in the house. This shouldn’t be an issue – I can spend a full week at home without opening the door – but it is driving me mad. After a few hours I get angsty (or is it antsy? I don’t know…I’m too wound up to think!) and pace from room to room. Is this the beginning of Cabin Fever? Most definitely. I haven’t looked it up, but I reckon I’m only a day or two away from attacking Vanna like Jack Torrance from The Shining. I don’t have an axe, but we don’t have any doors either, so it could easily happen.

Fortunately, Vanna has a solution that doesn’t involve murder. Tomorrow we’re going to compete in the Ice Fishing Extravangza; the World’s Biggest (here’s an article about it from the Daily Mail! Famous!) Ice Fishing Event that takes place every January every year in Brainerd, Minnesota. Over 20,000 people turn up to Gull Lake, make themselves a hole and then sit by it for three hours hoping to catch a fish big enough to win them one of the 150 prizes on offer. Vanna and I aren’t entering individually, but we’ll be keeping Becky, who is partaking, company. Maybe we’ll be lucky for her. Who knows?

There are many positives to going to the Extravangza (not sure that is the official name as I didn’t read that article, but I’m going to assume it is): it’ll cure my growing cabin fever, it’ll be a good experience, good blogging material AND we might even win something! There are a few downsides, however. Firstly, I have to get up at 7am. Secondly, and more importantly, it is going to be hellishly cold on Gull Lake. Like, seriously cold. I don’t know what it will be in the proper temperature scale, but even I can recognize -25F (with dangerous wind chill) is bad. Especially when we have no cover (that’s against the rules!) and we’re going to be out there for at least 7 hours (3 hours to fish, 4 hours to prep). Urgh. I’m going to wrap up warm but if I don’t make it back…it was nice knowing you guys.

*wipes away a solitary tear*

Anyway, I’ll let you know how it goes (providing I get back and I still have my fingers) on Sunday’s blog. Wish us luck (I want an ATV…or maybe the 1st prize truck)!

 

P.S Apologies again for not blogging yesterday. I was hoping to take some pictures but that didn’t happen. I’ll try to take some today instead and upload them tomorrow before I leave (what is with all these early starts? Ridiculous). Otherwise I’ll be back on Sunday with Ice Fishing news.

 

2 thoughts on “Hereeeeeeeeeeeeee’s ALEX!”

  1. I wanna kill you both…Also google “weather Your Town” and you can see Celsius as easy as pressing a button.

Leave a Reply

