I Might Just Cough Up A Lung

Sorry I’ve been so quiet this week folks. I’ve been ill since Monday, and I’m just recovering now. Still feeling pretty icky, mind. Not the greatest welcome home I’ve had, cooped up in my bed for days feeling even more miserable than I usually would (the only positive to being ill is that it distracts me from my predicament of being without Vanna for at least the next four months).

It didn’t seem like a big deal in the beginning either. A dry cough, nothing major. Maybe it was from the plane air, or the changing environments, or perhaps something someone else had. I don’t know, but I wasn’t concerned. Until Tuesday, that is, when I started to have severe muscle pain and a headache that would not go away. If I stayed still, I ached. When I moved, I ached more. I had no appetite (unusual for me) and no desire to do anything but curl up in a ball. Tuesday night was by far the worst night’s sleep I’ve had, though it would be generous to say I managed to sleep at all. Awful.

Drugs (good old ibruprofen) managed to alleviate the aching since then, but of course the cough has now returned with a vengeance. Imagine there is a small piece of tinfoil stuck in the back of your throat, and you’ll get an idea of what I’m going through. Last night I woke up at 2am and had to rush to the bathroom, it was that bad. But for all my violent retching down the sink, nothing happened; the feeling just got worse. I used to think a bad cough was preferable to runny nose. I take that back now. Just…awful.

Anyway, I’m feeling better (thank you cough syrup, you beautiful, sickly tasting liquid) so I thought I’d bring you up to date on some things… namely my journey back across the Atlantic.

Minneapolis > Amsterdam

Well, the flight was shorter than usual thanks to tail wind (less than eight hours), but it still took ages. I don’t think I’ve ever been so uncomfortable on a flight before, and I’ve used Air France. Leg discomfort was the main issue, but that was no real surprise; I should be used to that by now (I need to fly business class). Still, knowledge of the issue does not change the fact that being unable to stretch my legs out makes for a miserable journey. Urgh.

Oh, and I couldn’t sleep either. Super tired but I just couldn’t do it. And the food was pretty unexciting (I had a choice of lasagne or cold chicken salad…urgh, dry salad). The guy next to me wasn’t particularly chatty, and at some point I lost both my pillow and blanket. And my stomach hurt.  So yeah, generally just miserable.

Delta had a fun safety video though. In honour of April being 80’s month (or something like that) they had a special safety announcement with people sporting silly hairstyles and huge Walkman etc. Very clever.  After that I decided the best way to kill time was to watch some films.

Prisoners:

I have wanted to watch Prisoners ever since I saw the previews. I’ve been into my thrillers lately, and the idea of a man taking the law into in own hands after his daughter is kidnapped interested me. And it had Jake Gyllenhaal (almost spelled that right first time) as the detective, and he was great in Zodiac. Hugh Jackman is pretty good too, and it looked awesome in clips. First choice, easy.

Well it started impressively and I found it very enjoyable for the most part…but eventually I lost interest. I think it just went on for too long and got a bit too complex for its own good. Don’t get me wrong; the acting performances were fantastic, and the character development was compelling (lose a loved one or lose a part of yourself to find them?  Seeing how the parents, in particular Jackman, went through this process was fascinating) but the plot became too elaborate. Consider the more recent Saw films, and how the increase in shock factor meant they lost what made the originals so clever; the fact they weren’t just a stereotypical gory horror series. Prisoners felt a bit like that to me.

But eh, maybe I’m being harsh. I was in a bad mood, and I missed a crucial line of dialogue right at the end which didn’t help. And I was going crazy because I recognized of one of the characters, but typically I wasn’t able to recall where from. A quick search online would have solved it in seconds, but of course, I didn’t have internet on the plane. Turns out he was in Lost, but it was too late by the time I remembered that. It was rather distracting.

Anyway, 7.5/10 for now. A second go might bump the score up.

The Delivery Man

A lot of the films I wanted to watch had been taken off for 80’s month, so I opted for The Delivery Man. I never liked him before, but for some reason I’ve been in a Vince Vaughan mood. *shrugs* It looked to be a decent comedy, and the premise was different (a man finds out his sperm donations sired hundreds of children, said hundreds of children then want to learn who he is) so why not give it a go?

And, you know, it wasn’t bad. I didn’t expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. The ending was obvious, but I had some laughs from it (good considering my situation) and I enjoyed it. Don’t think I’d pay for it, but I’d watch it again. A nice comedy; inoffensive, neat script and not too forced. A secure 7/10.  Worth watching if you have some time to kill. Nothing mind-blowing, but there’s nothing wrong with that.

And…

…I feel like there was a third film. But I can’t think of it, so either there wasn’t, or it was so uneventful I forgot about it. Hmm.

Amsterdam > Newcastle

After landing, I was shepherded downstairs and out the way with all the geordies and England-bound people (now that all the ritzy gentleman I was travelling had gone, I found myself feeling rather depressed and unimportant). We got on a bus, and then, well, on the plane. I had a window seat this time so at least I had some nice views. Only had the one snack mind, because for some reason we had to choose between a brownie and some pretzels…usually we get both. Humph. Very disappointing.

Ahem. Not that I’m greedy or anything.

 

Anyhoo, I kept trying to doze off, but as soon as I relaxed, my head would fall forward and I’d wake up again. Even caught myself drooling once (thankfully I managed to catch it before I dribbled over myself). Very smooth, right? But it was a brief hour flight and then I was home. Got through Newcastle customs easy enough, and then, after being reunited with the folks, I went into my bedroom. And slept.

So…that’s about it for my journey. Uneventful and boring, as always. But don’t you feel better knowing it?

Yeah I thought so.

Right…I think it is time for my next cough dose.

Bye!

Alex

 

Leave a Reply

