Big Day Tomorrow…(And An Even Bigger Day Monday)

Howdy folks.

First, a quick apology about the lack of posts this week. No real reason for it, I must admit. Mostly I’ll be working hard at my book, which has taken up a lot of my time. Making real progress though, so that’s good. Otherwise, there just hasn’t been much going on! The weather has been poor, so I haven’t gone anywhere, and there’s been no good photo opportunities either. Bummer, right?

Anyway, moving on and I’ve had a busy day today. Not only have I spent hours and hours replaying Dragon Age: Origins (very important work…and another reason I haven’t blogged lately…ahem), I have also had Sunday’s big trip to prepare for.

Oh yes. I’d like to say I’ve gotten over my nerves but I haven’t. I get anxious every time I think about it. As I said in the other blog, I’m confident but I can’t help but worry about, well…everything. Checking the letter, it says I could be there for two, possibly three hours. What’s going to happen in that time?! Already stressing out. Thankfully my dad will be with me for moral support. He probably won’t say anything, but it’ll be good to have him with.

Other than trying to keep calm, there isn’t much to do except wait. My overnight bag is packed, my file has the necessary additions (like my birth certificate, which I almost forgot) and I’ve gone through it all with Vanna via Skype so I know exactly what I’ve got with me to help support our case. The only thing we don’t have is a map, but I think we should be able to figure it out considering it is ten minutes away from where I got my medical, and the hotel is only a few minutes away from there. I can always google street-view it too.

So, what’s the plan? Well, the train leaves Durham early tomorrow morning. We’ll get there mid-afternoon, providing there’s no delays. At that point we’ll check into the hotel, and maybe after that go for a walk around London. I’m pleased to report that the forecast is positive (sunshine, no rain) during out time there, which is certainly encouraging. And my camera is already in my bag, so if we do have a wander, I’ll be able to take some photographs. There is a possibility we may go to Chelsea’s ground (Stamford Bridge), which I’ve never seen before (in person). Obviously going to the Bridge would be very exciting for me, even if it was just for a wander around the ground (as opposed to going on a tour). Whether we actually do that…I’m not sure at this point. But wherever we go, you’ll see the pictures Tuesday or Wednesday.

As for Monday, it’ll be an early start. Appointment at nine, and we’ll want to be there thirty minutes beforehand. It won’t be a long walk from the hotel to the embassy, but I’m not going to take any chances; we will probably leave the hotel shortly after eight that morning. Get to the embassy, have the interview and leave (hopefully in a jubilant mood). Not sure when the train home is (my dad has the tickets) but it’ll be late evening by the time we get back. I’ll let you know how it goes on Tuesday.

Right then, I should go. Dragon Age is calling me…

Wish me (us) luck!

Alex

Leave a Reply

