Travel Insurance: Another Way To Rip Off One Way Flyers

Hello everybody,

I’m having so much fun today trying to sort out my travel insurance. Like, so much fun. Easily the most enjoyable part of travelling. And by that, I’m including the actual holiday/destination. Just. So. Much. Fun.

Urgh, I hate buying travel insurance. Usually I find the process fairly straightforward (I put my details into a comparison site, choose the best option, pay for it and boom! I’m done), but trying to buy insurance for a one way journey is like the fourth worst circle of hell (okay, I exaggerate; it’s more like the sixth, you got me).

You see, insurance companies don’t believe in one way insurance. Or at least the ones that come up when you search one way travel insurance don’t. Sure, they all mention one way, like they are all eager to offer you a deal, but none of them actually give you the option to pick it. There is always a return date involved, which, funnily enough, I don’t have. According to one site, however, this is no big deal:

Most standard travel insurance deals you will come across when shopping online, apply to traditional holidays or trips that will eventually land you back in the UK.

However most of these standard travel policies can also be taken as one way trip, so long as you contact the insurer and request it. It’s always a good idea to get this part of the agreement in writing and have a print out to take with you.

That’s good, isn’t it? I contacted two companies and explained my situation, feeling positive about getting a result. But strangely enough, both said they will only cover me if I have an open or return ticket. So that advice was total rubbish! To the insurance companies, one way just means I haven’t yet decided where to fly next. They don’t actually acknowledge those who want to be permanent residents to the country they are flying to. They’ll pretend to, but nah, if you plan to stay then you’re on your own skipper. Well, isn’t that helpful.

At this point, Vanna (and my dad) suggested I just get the return insurance, and use the return date as the day I want my policy to end. What does it matter to the insurance company? It actually benefits them if you think about it; without the second journey, the odds that I’ll need to claim for baggage/cancellation issues are halved. Half the flights, half the problem. And if I’m staying permanently it is less likely that I’ll be adventurous, thus the odds that I’ll injure myself are theoretically reduced. I’m not much of a risk to them…so what does it matter?

Well, I wasn’t convinced. If you could just buy single trip insurance regardless of whether you are going to return or not, why would one way insurance even exist? I was told by Vanna that I was over-thinking it, but I couldn’t agree with her. I couldn’t buy the return insurance as suggested. Yes, the logic to her argument was sound (to an extent), but I reckon if an insurance company can get out of a claim, they will. They don’t want to pay out, do they? Any breach of the agreement would be pounced on…so I looked through the fine print of several policies to double-check, and they all referred to how a return ticket must have been purchased. Consequently, this sneak option was out.

(Yes, the purpose of that paragraph was just to show I was right…you can tell I’m ready for marriage, can’t you?),

Fortunately I did finally manage to find a few sites that actually offer one-way insurance options, and not just pretend to. Unfortunately, they are super expensive. To cover myself for 90 days (like I have done in the past) would cost twice as much! Yay! Just like the plane tickets! That’s great. Really great. Evidently us one way travellers are the people to be fleeced.

Urgh.

Annoyingly, this is the one time I really need long-term insurance because I’m going be in a state of flux for a while. I won’t be able to apply for health insurance until I’m accepted as a resident (Vanna is going to look into this, but I’m not positive that she’ll find a solution), and even if things on that front go quickly, it will probably take longer than 90 days. After all, I can’t start the process until I’m married, then there might be an interview to go through, plus weeks of waiting while the paperwork is sorted out…we’d be lucky to be sorted by October. I leave mid July (6 days). That’s a long time to be uninsured, but I just don’t want to pay over the odds for this. The tickets were bad enough.

*sigh*

Bah. No doubt I’ll end up getting the expensive package (that isn’t even that good!) this weekend. I just wanted to rant about it first.

Thanks for listening,

Alex

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Travel Insurance: Another Way To Rip Off One Way Flyers”

  1. Just get out there and start the life you both want so much. Life has never been easy and its not about to change. So smile, be happy!!!

Leave a Reply

