More Bike Excitement

So we’re going to head back to the bike shop today…our third visit…because the computer Vanna bought for my bike won’t work. We’ve set it up correctly (not sure how we managed it; the instructions, which were all pictures and no words, weren’t great) but one part of the system isn’t registering for some reason.

*sigh*

Naturally we’re getting a little fed up with this bike business. We’re already annoyed with the store because they:

a) Didn’t enter us into the system properly. Had we not called them, my bike would have just sat there indefinitely.

b) The guy sold us the wrong tyre, so we had to pay extra (taking the total up to $58!) for that, which didn’t help our mood. I don’t think we should have to pay for their mistake (especially with point a) but whatever.

c) The tyre didn’t need to be replaced at all; the tubing was the problem, not the tyre. They essentially took advantage of our lack of knowledge. Not surprising, I know, but irritating nonetheless. What should have cost no more than $22 ($7 tubing, $15 installment) knocked us back for nearly $60. Quite a kicker when you’re on a tight budget.

Urgh. Understandably, we’re reluctant to go see them again. Vanna plans to complain about the unnecessary tyre purchase (we have the old tyre in the back of the car and there is clearly nothing wrong with it), so we’ll see what happens there. I’m not optimistic we’ll get anything back, but thinking positively, at least we have a spare tyre for any future emergencies. We’d rather have the money but eh, could be worse, right?

*sigh*

Mind you, there’s a good chance I won’t see Vanna rage at the bike shop people because, depending on the time, I might be taking my driving theory test while she goes to get the computer fixed. I had planned to take it sooner (ie yesterday or Wednesday) but there wasn’t a convenient time (we would have had to wait in Brainerd for four hours or waste gas doing an extra trip) so it had to wait until today. Probably a good thing as it gave me more time to revise a few things. I’m confident that I’ll pass, but I want to go into the test with everything fresh on my mind. I’m not American, after all, so everything is still relatively new to me.

Providing all goes well, I’ll be the designated driver for Saturday’s trip to the cities. It’s wedding business mostly; we’re meeting our official photographer at 1pm, and afterwards Vanna is going to show me the spot in the park that we have reserved for the ceremony. I haven’t seen it yet, and I’m going to pictures so we can plan out how we want things to go (there is a statue we want to block out, for example; how best to do that?). I’ll try to upload the pictures here, but I’m already running out of room on morephotographyonthecitadel, so no promises. I should really just buy more space but eh…too much work.

Um, what else? Well, while we’re in the cities we hope to go shoe shopping. Both of us need shoes for the wedding, but I can’t say I’m excited to look for a pair. I don’t like shopping (any type, unless Xbox related) at the best of times, but a dual shoe shopping trip? It wouldn’t be so bad if it was just me; it’ll take less than thirty minutes to find a suitable pair of shoes for me, but Vanna needs shoes too? Oh now we’re looking at five hours. I’ll get hot and uncomfortable, Vanna will feel like I’m rushing her and get frustrated…yeah, we love each other very much, but shopping is definitely not something we do well together. There’ll be petty arguments and dry looks all afternoon. I can’t wait.

Hmm.

But other than the weekend trip and my bike issues, there isn’t a lot going on at the moment. We’ve been watching Hemlock Grove…that’s been okay, I suppose. Hopefully I’ll get some bike rides in soon too, weather permitting (rainy today). Otherwise I’m just adjusting to life in America. I’m eager to resume my book – possible now my laptop is active again – and look for work; I won’t be able to apply for a while, but it couldn’t hurt to see what’s available.

 

Leave a Reply

