Bargains, Deals And Auctions!

(okay, there was only one auction but sometimes you gotta run with the plural in the title. I know, I’m terrible for sensationalism)

Hello all,

Apologies about the blog silence. It has been a busy few days for me. Nothing special; just editing the first draft of my book (well, the first 1/4 of what I’ve written anyway). But because each chapter takes so long to go through and makes me hate everything and anything to do with writing (it is so easy to get despondent; you spend hours tweaking sentences and paragraphs you’ve already done and by the end of the day have nothing ‘new’ to show for it), I haven’t really had the energy to blog afterwards.  But because I’ve cleverly decided to post this before I start the editing process, I’m at least good for today.

SO, let’s rewind back to Friday. Vanna went to a rummage sale at a church in Nisswa. Because I was in bed (I wasn’t going to wait outside her work for 3 hours, especially not if it meant waking up at 5am) I wasn’t able to partake in her spending splurge (for about twenty dollars she bought a shop load of stuff). I was, of course, expected to help with the haulage. That’s how marriage works, people.

But it wasn’t all bad. Though the chair (heavy) and the sofa (heavier) that Vanna bought for a combined $15 weren’t the easiest things to carry (it was sweaty, sweaty work), they were definitely worth the effort; while Vanna’s sister Sierra finally has a couch for her place, I now have a cool gaming chair!

Here’s the chair. It reclines…electronically. Oh yeah. That is how my life works these days, folks.

Boom! As you can see by the junk to the right, I have claimed this chair.

What else did Vanna get? Unimportant! Time to talk about the auction I went to on Saturday!

(Okay, I can’t remember what else she got. A suitcase, a vase…stuff like that. Hey, I was carrying the chair!)

As Vanna was working a longer shift, Becky and Brian invited me to the auction in Merrifield (a few miles south of where we live). A builder’s yard company (not sure of the correct term but they had all sorts of equipment and machinery) had closed (voluntarily, I gather) and everything on the property (aside from the buildings) was put up for auction. As I had never went to an auction before, I thought I’d tag along.

It was a fun experience. Though most the stuff (tools, chairs, miscellaneous garden items etc) went for a pittance, it was interesting to see the bigger items – cars, trucks, tractors, snowmobiles – go for three and four figure sums (still cheap, but the bidding wars were always exciting). Even the smaller deals had a level of intrigue to them; there is something amusing about seeing people give the  ‘uh, too much for me‘ face when the price was below twenty bucks.

Biggest shocker of the day? An old fish house (which needed a new door and floor) went for $700. Not sure how that happened.

Best deal of the day? A lot of bargains but a mint condition tractor for $2600 was pretty nifty.

Weirdest buy of the day? Some cheap nasty plastic pinwheels went for $25! When most people shirked at $5 tool sets, for those to go at five times the price was ridiculous.

Sadly I didn’t do much bidding or take any pictures of the event (though I reckon an auction has to be experienced first hand to get the full effect, especially in regards to the auctioneer’s cadence) BUT Becky did buy me this cool stein for $5 (expensive I know)!

Right side (I think?)
Left side…
And finally the centre view.

The auction was definitely a good experience for me and I’m glad I went (I’d go again too! Though maybe next time with some cash). I have never been interested in second-hand goods before, but this weekend has proved (to me, anyway) that ‘new’ isn’t everything. Rummage sales (this chair is a beast!) and auctions can be a great way to find a bargain. So long as it isn’t broken or ruined in some way, what’s the problem? I suppose that’s the moral of this story.

Right, I better start editing. Speak to you later,

Alex

 

Leave a Reply

