Yet Another Step Forward!

Howdy folks,

I have good news, and I have great news! Both announcements have been referred to before, but as they are now verified reality, I reckon they are worth a standalone blog post.

What’s happened? Well the first thing is that my driving permit has finally been validated, which means I can start driving again! Typically the weather has turned awful again (it snowed today…snowed! I thought it was over, I THOUGHT IT WAS OVER!) but I’m excited to get behind the wheel again. That’s my good news.

My great news is that my temporary work permit has also been authorized, so I can start working now too! It’s only taken six months, but whatever. Better late than never, right?

So, what’s next?

  1. Take my word permit to the DMV and use it as proof of residency. Even if I can’t take a driving test, at least I’ll be covered until my birthday (when the work permit expires).
  2. Americanize my C.V. As my qualifications are largely unknown here, I need to change my resume to instead explain what I have done, and what I can do. I doubt I’ll be pulling up trees, but hopefully I’ll be able to display my skills enough to get an opportunity.
  3. Start looking for work! As my driving permit requires a licensed driver in the passenger seat (as well as an available vehicle) any job I go for needs to suit Vanna’s schedule (which can be all over the place) so it’s going to be interesting to see what options I have. I do have preferences, but at the moment, I’m mostly willing to do most jobs. I guess I’ll just have to see who is hiring and hope for the best!

And that is largely it for now. I’ll let you know what happens.

Bye for now!

Alex

Leave a Reply

