I’m Not As Fast A Typer As I Thought I Was…

Howdy all,

So I have good news! Last Thursday I started work typing up assessments for a psychologist! I work from home (bypassing all those driving problems I complained about in my last post) and each assessment takes me between two and four hours (for reasons I’ll explain in a few paragraphs) to complete. So far I’ve finished 3 reports. I get paid per page (sadly I can’t put it in huge font to triple the page number…) and, uh yeah…that’s about it. A job!

Currently I’m busy typing up a load of older reports which should lead to a nice pay cheque at the end of the month (I have to write an invoice for that, maybe I’ll put Vanna’s new bookkeeping skills to the test and get her to do it for me!). I’m not sure how frequent the reports will be after that, but it will supplement our income regardless. And it’s a new experience, a new skill and it’s pretty interesting, so I have to say I’m enjoying it so far!

Only disadvantage is that I don’t have a functioning foot pedal for the recorder (I thought that sounded weird before it was explained to me, but it means you can stop/start the tape without taking your hand off the keyboard; no pedals means it takes me at least an hour more to do than it would otherwise) which isn’t great. Fortunately there is another, hopefully operational, pedal that I should have for tomorrow, and I’m not expected to continue doing the assessments without it (hence why I’m not doing one right now).

So that’s what I’ve been up to this past week! Nice, right? It’s probably a good thing too as I don’t really have anything else to talk about! The football is practically over, the weather has been awfully dreary, and everybody back home seems to be equally miserable because of the election results. Oh well, it’s only…life I guess.

Right, I’m going to do some prep for tomorrow’s work. I also need to get back into my book; all these assessments have cut into my editing time. Ugh. Busy, busy, busy.

Speak to you later,

Alex

Leave a Reply

