A Very Special Weekend

Howdy all,

Wow, what a busy few days I’ve had! Well, not that hectic I suppose, but considering yesterday was the first day I’ve been home for more than just sleep since last Thursday, I think my weekend counts as being significantly eventful! I had hoped to cover some of the things I missed in my last post (our trip to Wilmer for example), but I simply haven’t had the time. So much responsibility…it’s tiring.

But enough whinging. I’m here now…so what have I been doing?

Wedding!

On Saturday, I was honoured to be a groomsman for my good friend Dacotah, who was getting married to his lovely fiancé Mkaila. It was effectively a two-day event; Friday was the dress rehearsal, BBQ and bachelor/stag party, Saturday the ceremony, dinner and reception. A few hiccups aside, everything went perfectly. The ceremony was beautiful and the after party was a lot of fun. And both the bride and groom were very happy, which I believe is the most important thing when it comes to weddings. I know, big surprise, right?

From my perspective, there were no problems. I had some minor issues finding pants that fit (apparently they think people with a waist over 34 inches are super short) but thankfully my outfit was ready in time. I wasn’t a big fan of the bow tie and suspenders (I have never worn either in my life) but they weren’t too bad (the suspenders were also a useful prop to disguise my non-dancing awkwardness with a terrible dancing move, which I guess is an improvement?) in the end. I don’t have any pictures at the moment but I hope to have some soon. I was actually the main attraction for one of the pre-wedding pictures (apparently I was the tallest person there by quite a distant…that’s all I’m saying though as I don’t want to ruin the surprise) so if I manage to get my hands on that, I’ll make sure to share it with you guys.

Otherwise, there isn’t much I can talk about, at least in terms of my experience. I drank too much the night before, but thankfully the wedding started at 6 (pictures at 4:30) so I had plenty of time to recover. Didn’t mess up in my groomsman duties either! Except for that day where I was the groom, I’m not very familiar with wedding-related responsibility…but yeah, I did all right on Saturday. I didn’t trip when I walked with one of the bridesmaids (always a concern, so pretty pleased to say I nailed my walk), made sure the groom did everything he needed to, met the required dancing quota etc. I also signed the wedding certificate as a witness (the best man had to go early as he has two young children; he’ll sign the framed version, however) and collected money for the dollar dance. This second responsibility did mean I had to dance more, but nevertheless I was very proud and honoured to be involved. Hopefully I’ll see Dacotah and Mkaila before they go to Maryland (they are going to live on the army base there) but if not, I wish them both the best for the future.

Oh, I had bear burger on Friday night too. Almost forgot about that. Very delicious. Preferred it to beef, which was an opinion I didn’t expect to have.

But uh, congratulations to the married couple.

Ahem.

Itching and Sleeping

Of course, the excitement doesn’t stop there. After a well-deserved, long, Sunday lie-in, Vanna and I went to her mother’s for dinner. Unfortunately I spent a fair amount of the afternoon sleeping thanks to the Benadryl capsules I had taken. Did I have allergies? Well, not quite. Somehow (I can’t stress how confused I am about this) I suffered a pretty bad outbreak of poison ivy late Saturday night. It was very random, or at least seemed that way. Suddenly during the wedding reception I felt itchy, checked my legs and discovered some huge lumps scattered between my knee and ankle. Surprise! I won’t go into too much detail so I don’t gross you out, but a few of them were…bad. Like really bad. It didn’t affect my night, but it’s fair to say I wasn’t very happy.

How did I get them? I honestly have no idea. I’d been wearing new socks and trousers all day and prior that, I’d barely left the house. Anya could have possibly brought in some of the oil, but it’s still a ridiculous response. Evidently I’m really sensitive to it, thus the skin on my legs is now covered in both itchy mosquito bites and itchy poison ivy. Isn’t that fantastic?

So yeah…that was my Sunday.

Doctor’s Appointment and Minneapolis

Early Monday morning, Vanna and I headed out to pick up our niece Marley Jo. After a failed trip to give blood (Vanna’s pulse was slightly above 100 and their new system stopped them from checking it again…how stupid is that?), we headed to the Doctors so I could see if there was anything I could do about my stupid poison ivy problem. Thirty minutes later, I was first depressed by the weight display on the scales, and then prescribed some steroid cream to help with the itching. So far it is working, though I remain concerned about another random outbreak. Guess we’ll have to see what happens.

With that done, Vanna and I parted ways. While she took Marley home, I accompanied our friend Meg (who we usually do things with on Monday) to pick up her boyfriend Larry from the airport. Largely uneventful journey, though we did have some minor worries about his flight when an announcer stated there was a severe weather warning in place. Thankfully he landed okay and we got out on time. It was nice going to an airport without the dread of departing for a change. Interestingly there were about ten people holding these big, colourful cardboard signs welcoming who we assumed to be foreign exchange students. Not wanting Larry to feel left out, I quickly scribbled his name onto a piece of A4. I must admit it wasn’t the most impressive sign, but I reckon he appreciated it.

On the return drive, we stopped at Noodles & Co, a chain pasta/noodle restaurant that I’ve never been to before. My inexperience meant I was easily overwhelmed with the choices so I just went for this salad bowl thing to avoid any complications. Typically there was then several complications; I made sure to request for any onions to be removed but, thinking that was the only vegetable I hated, I forgot to ask about mushroom. And of course there was more mushroom than meat in the bowl! Urgh, I detest mushrooms with a passion. However, after discovering they are supposedly building a Noodles & Co. in Brainerd, I decided I would be willing to try them again. Just need to pay more attention to what I’m ordering next time.

*sigh*

And that about concludes my activities. Tuesday morning I finally got home and napped (I slept on Meg and Larry’s couch Monday night; this wouldn’t have too bad but sirens and fighting cats kept me up for a while)…then tried to catch up on other things, such as my writing (sadly lost momentum on that), the job search (no luck yet), my gaming (can’t wait for Gears UE!) plus whatever else that required my attention. Chores, time with the wife, etc.

What next?

Well, the excitement is not over yet! Today catching up with my dad via Skype after his week on the Isle of Skye. Then in a couple of days we have the 4th of July holiday! I’m not entirely sure what parts of our initial plans are concrete, but I expect we’ll be busy from Friday to Monday. We’re just popular people, you see. Not sure how much of my day events will transfer to the blog, but I’ll do my best to have some cool stories, pictures etc. Failing that, I do have a new t-shirt  for the special occasion so that’s something to look forward to, right? Gotta keep up that 4th of July tradition!

Okay I should probably wrap this up for now. I’ll speak to you sometime next week when things die down.

Have a happy Independence Day!

Alex

Leave a Reply

