Halloween & Beyond

Howdy folks,

First things first, I want to offer a quick apology for the lack of updates recently. Granted this isn’t really my fault; the reason I haven’t brought you up to date with my situation is because nothing has happened since my last post. October hasn’t been a bad month, but it has been a frustrating time for me, in more ways than one.

So what am I waiting for? Well…

New Job

Oh boy. Who would have thought sorting out background checks for a job would be this difficult? It’s been three weeks since I was offered the job, yet I’m still waiting for confirmation. The complications largely arise from my international status, which is causing problems for the people working to get my information processed. I don’t blame them for the delay – this is a new experience for all parties involved – but I really didn’t expect it to be so time-consuming.  Hopefully it’ll be finished up soon because I’m keen to start working again. It’s been a while since I last had a ‘proper’ job, and I’m looking forward to getting back into it. It’ll make our life immeasurably better, for reasons I will explain once everything is confirmed. Until then it’s a waiting game.

*sigh*

Gaming!

Speaking of waiting and games (see what I did there?), it feels like each day speeds by yet November 10th* only gets further and further away (I’m not going to tell you the significance of that day because you should just know it!). This past month has been painstakingly slowly. I’ve tried to fill the void with other games but so far my attempts have been unsuccessful. Gears of War: Ultimate Edition was a false dawn (gave up on that within a month), Thief was too clunky, Mass Effect was a brief fling following my game writing (didn’t get the second job either; not too disappointed however, it is just something I need to work on), The Walking Dead was enjoyable but ultimately a story not a game, and FIFA 16, which had taken up most of my gaming time, doesn’t really work as a long term solution (I prefer to pick it up from time to time).  It’s been a rough time, I tell ya.

Fortunately I’ve just discovered Assassin’s Creed Unity (it came with my Xbox One along with Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag; I jumped forward because I haven’t completed Assassin’s Creed III and Unity isn’t tied into the main story like Black Flag) so I’ve started playing that this week. It doesn’t quite satisfy my bloodlust (my mistake was not giving my 360 a go, as Halo 4 or Gears of War 3 probably would have helped with this…now I can’t go back, as I’ve given the console to a friend for a couple of weeks) but it should keep me entertained while I wait for the 10th.

Halloween!

One distraction from my gaming and job woes is tomorrow’s Halloween adventure! Vanna and I are heading up to Bemidji again for the weekend, where hopefully we will have a…spooktacular time (sigh).  I’m not entirely sure what is on the agenda for Saturday night, but I will bring my camera to document what I can. I actually have a proper costume this year! It is shop bought (If I’m going to dress up, I want it to be something unique and clever**. But at the same time, I’m too lazy to be creative…hence why I didn’t really bother doing anything last year) BUT I’m happy with it. What am I going to be? Find out next week!
Have a happy Halloween everyone!

Alex

 

 

 

*Fallout 4′s release date. If you didn’t already know that, shame on you.

**I did have a great idea for a costume this year, but due to time constraints, it will have to wait until next Halloween as I’ll need more than a week to put it together. I’d tell you what I thought up, but I don’t want to ruin the, uh, surprise. Also, if I forget to do it or it looks bad, you won’t know that I’ve failed.

Leave a Reply

