Blue Is The Colour

Well last night was amazing. Chelsea beat Bayern Munich to win the Champions League, the most prestigious footballing trophy in club football. Not only that, we also did it on penalties, which may not sound special, but considering our abysmal record in penalty shootouts and how good Germans and German teams are at them, it was almost a miracle. We didn’t play the best football but I really couldn’t care less. We won! I was on the edge of my seat throughout, at times I couldn’t look (especially when they had a penalty during the game) but we did it. Our players wanted it more and they had the desire and the determination to do it. Once Cech saved their fifth penalty (he tipped it onto the post) I was confident the cup was ours.

But enough about that for now. Today has been pretty hectic too. I’ve had to sort out the final arrangements for Tuesday, getting all the additional supplies (and clothes) that I need for my trip. In an hour or so I’ll have to finish my packing, something that I’m not particularly excited to do. My suitcase is already full yet there’s plenty waiting to be added. Damn.

Come on…close damn you!

Despite this suitcase dread, my excitement is increasing every day. I can’t wait to get over there. I can’t wait to see my girlfriend. I can’t wait to enjoy the beautiful Minnesotan sunshine (if it’s not snowing that is). I’ve even searched for my Gameboy Advance for the plane journey. Oh yes, I’m kicking it old school. You can shove your Angry Birds and your Ipads. Why? Because I have Crash Bandicoot. I’m expecting some odd looks from airline staff checking my bag (‘what’s this you’ve got here…it’s clearly Nintendo but…but it’s so chunky and big…’) but you can’t beat that nostalgic feeling. I’m tempted to play it now actually…just to see if it works, obviously.

I’ve already spoken about what I’m doing this summer but there are certain things I’m apprehensive about. For one, it’s going to be an unusual few months for me as I’ll be spending some time outdoors. Hopefully I’ll not shrivel up and die. Already I’ve had to buy shorts to wear, and I’ll need plenty of short-sleeved t-shirts too. It’s quite different from my usual attire (jeans and hoodies, predominantly black clothing) but I think I’ll manage. My girlfriend wants me to swim in the lakes too, but I feel that is one step too far. I’m like a very tall, blonde Gremlin. I can eat after midnight but keeping me dry is advisable. Typical then, really, that I go to the one place that has more bloody lakes than anywhere else in the world. If you aren’t looking where you’re going you’ll end up falling in one. Probably.

Look out!

However there are some things I’m going to miss. My family, my trusty Xbox, talking to my friends and of course good quality food will all be sorely pined for (the latter is a jest, fear not). That’s not all though, as I’ll also pass up on the football. Chelsea’s season may be over but the Euros, the international football event, is about to begin, only for me to be in a different country when it’s on. Hopefully I should be able to watch some games, as although football isn’t a particular popular American sport, there is still a decent following of Americans wanting to watch how the rest of the world play sports (fewer breaks, advertising and steroids). England’s first match in the competition is on a Monday, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to watch that while my girlfriend meets up with her friends. Fingers crossed anyway.

Special mention should go to the Olympics I suppose. It is in London this year and we’re no doubt hoping to continue our good form in the Games. However I don’t really care too much for it. I want Great Britain to do well but even if I was available to watch it, I probably wouldn’t. Athletics do nothing for me. Football is my passion and Chelsea have pre-season friendlies on at the same time. Considering they are playing American teams, I actually might get the opportunity to see them. Awesome. All I need is some snacks and I’ll be ready to go.

In addition, there are also some other events that I’ll be able to see while I’m over there, primarily the E3 Convention. I will be covering Microsoft’s show for Solidus so if you want news on Halo 4, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 and whatever else Microsoft cover, please check us out here.  I haven’t yet decided whether to do a running feed or just write the articles once the presentation is finished but I shall keep this blog updated regardless of my decision. Any suggestions on what approach to take?

This is the first time I’ve ever reported on an event of this magnitude (or any magnitude, for that matter), so I’m really excited for it. The fact that it is live (Rather than getting information from another source, it’ll be direct information) makes it even more appealing. I’ll have my girlfriend ready with supplements and back up pens to make sure I don’t miss a thing.

Fortunately I do have two weeks to make arrangements before the big day so I can iron out everything with time to spare. But don’t worry, that doesn’t mean the blog will be sacrificed. I’ll keep you updated on my trip (if you’re interested, great, if not, read anyway) as the holiday progresses. If I was a man in my mid forties trying to get ‘down with the kids’ (ala David Cameron) I’d say it’s all good in the hood.

Christ.

Right, I probably should go pack. Or play my Gameboy. One of the two. Should do the former, more likely to do the latter.

I’ll leave you with these pictures, courtesy of Chelsea FC. If you aren’t interested in football then I hope these celebratory photos encourage you to be an honour supporter. If enough of you proclaim  your love for the Blues, I’ll make up some badges or something.

4 thoughts on “Blue Is The Colour”

Leave a comment