The Millennium Trilogy (Nearly Finished Book 1!)

By ‘eck, the weather is miserable today. Well it is here anyway. Might be nice where you are but in my town, it hasn’t stopped raining. It’s quite depressing really. Splat is getting antsy in the kitchen. This is a cat that doesn’t like to be cooped up. I was going to take a picture of her being unimpressed but she was let outside (despite the fact it is still raining) so I missed my chance. I’ll take a picture of her once she’s back inside and upload it tomorrow. Here is an old picture of her though, as way of compensation.

Right, now that’s over we can move on to the real point (not that I really have one) to this blog.

Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy.

You might have heard of it before. I do consider myself a bit of a trendsetter when it comes to the latest big hitters, but I do think this time I might be a bit behind the times. I know, how is that possible? But sometimes I just happen to let something slide and pick up on it later. It is a rare occurrence, but Larsson’s trilogy just happens to be one of these occasions. I’m still going to talk about it like I’m the first to read it though. It’s just the way I do things.

Anyway I’ve been really enjoying the first book, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I’m about two-thirds of the way through it and I’m really struggling to put it down. I’ve started getting into Borderlands 2 but even that has been put on the back-burner so I can finish TGWTDT (acronyms are fun!). It took me a while to get hooked but I can’t wait to finish it now. Definitely one that you should try to pick up if you get the chance. Once I’ve read it fully I’ll give a better analysis.

Reading this trilogy couldn’t come at a better time either. After deciding that I’m going to split my book into two, what better way to see how a plot is continued through a second book than reading an international best-selling trilogy? Exactly. I know how I’m going to divide the story up, and I know roughly what is going to be in each section, but I don’t quite know how the first book is going to end. I’m also trying to focus on how I’m going to make it engaging, as the real action happens later on. The first book is about developing the characters. From what I gather Larsson’s trilogy works on a similar basis, so hopefully I’ll pick up some tips as I read them. This first one is definitely compelling. And that is how I want mine to be. The fact that I’m enjoying the book is just a bonus. Of course reading something that I can’t stand just for research purposes would be awful. Thankfully I don’t think there is any merit in Twilight so I won’t ever have this problem.

Ha, I’m so funny.

Before I finish, has anybody seen the film version of TGWTDT? The one with Daniel Craig in. If so, would you recommend it? I noticed it was on television today but I didn’t want to watch it until I’d finished the book.

For everybody else who has no interest in Stieg Larsson’s trilogy, here’s another picture of Splat. Not only am I funny, I’m also thoughtful. I’m just the complete package aren’t I?

Right then. I’m off to read. Goodbye!