New Flooring! (I Bet You Can’t Handle The Excitement!)

Yesterday, while I was out in Newcastle, we had new flooring put down in the kitchen, replacing the ‘exposed floorboards’ look that the previous owners had decided to go with. The more cynical of you might say it was rather convenient that I happened to have plans when there was work to be done BUT I’d like to go on record saying I actually had to go to Newcastle to hand in my bus pass to avoid being charged for another month, and just so decided to make a day of it. It had absolutely nothing to do with avoiding the noisy workman or having to put all the stuff taken out of the kitchen (light things, like the fridge/freezer and the dryer) back in after the guys had finished the flooring. Absolutely nothing, I tell you. A coincidence.

Ahem. Anyway…

Once I returned home last night I found that the floor had been completed and, uh all the appliances had been returned to their original place. And I have to say, it looked very nice. Very professional. Here’s the pictures of the kitchen/sun room on the day we moved in…

Nice...
Nice…
Look At That Floor...
Look At That Floor…
Pipework. Very fancy.
Pipework. Very fancy.

And this is what it looks like now!

The Sun Room
The Sun Room
The Fridge/Freezer
The Fridge/Freezer
Washing Machine/Dryer
Washing Machine/Dryer
The Oven
And Another Pic Of The Oven…

How much better does that look?

It’s been a successful few weeks. The living room is welcoming, the kitchen is pretty much done after Monday’s work, my bedroom is getting closer (we put all the crates in the loft so I now have room to move!) and the main bedroom isn’t far off either.  Our little house has become a home in a fortnight. I wasn’t sure how much I’d like the place but I must admit I prefer it to our old house by far.

So the speed of the transformation has definitely surpassed our expectations (hence the celebratory drinks last night). Sure, the bathroom is still a work in progress (we’re using the off cuts from the kitchen as temporary flooring) but it has a working shower unit now…what else do we need?

Oh, and here’s a picture of our Christmas tree. That is the stuffed lion off the left, by the way, not Splat Cat. Just in case you were still unsure from yesterday.

DSCF0496

Look at how Christmassy we are! We have stockings, a roaring fire and at least 7 (8?) Christmas cards! What more could you ask for?

Speaking of Christmas, Vanna recieved her gift box this weekend. She wanted to open it immediately but to her credit, held off…until today. To be fair it wasn’t all her fault (granted she didn’t take much convincing; ‘you can open them Vanna‘ ‘OKAY!’).  I wanted Vanna to do it because she’ll be heading up north to spend Christmas with her family and I won’t be able to watch her open them via Skype unless she waited until she returned home to open it.  And we both knew that wasn’t happening. Patience is a virtue that Vanna unfortunately doesn’t possess.

So two seconds after I gave my permission Vanna ripped open the box just and explored through her presents with the same kind of enthusiasm I’d expect a child to give after being told they have one hour to grab as many sweets as possible from the largest candy emporium in the world. Eh…she was excited, put it that way. It was adorable.

I won’t tell you what she got because I’m going to leave that honour to the lady in question. Vanna is posting tomorrow so expect a blog talking about how wonderful I am and how lucky she is to have me. There will probably be pictures of her holding the gifts, smiling her biggest smile to show how happy she is. You know, over the top loveliness.

Or she’ll ignore all of that and talk about a puppy. It really could go either way.